Beyond Empathy, Catharsis Installation Nov 2014
Announcing the 2015 Stella Prize Longlist

Announcing The Stella Prize
2015 Longlist

The Stella Prize is delighted to announce the 2015 Stella Prize longlist. From more than 150 entries, this year's Stella Prize judges – critic and writer Kerryn Goldsworthy (chair); journalist and broadcaster Caroline Baum; writer and lecturer Tony Birch; singer–songwriter Sarah Blasko; and acclaimed author Melissa Lucashenko – have selected twelve great books by Australian women.

The 2015 Stella Prize longlist: 

Foreign Soil by Maxine Beneba Clarke
The Strays by Emily Bitto
Only the Animals by Ceridwen Dovey
This House of Grief by Helen Garner
Golden Boys by Sonya Hartnett
The Invisible History of the Human Race by Christine Kenneally
The Eye of the Sheep by Sofie Laguna
The Golden Age by Joan London
Laurinda by Alice Pung
Nest by Inga Simpson
Heat and Light by Ellen van Neerven
In My Mother's Hands by Biff Ward

Chair of the Stella Prize judging panel, Kerryn Goldsworthy, says of the longlist: "For the third year in a row, the longlist for the Stella Prize reveals the wealth of talent and skill across a broad spectrum of authors, genres and styles in Australian women's writing. Of the twelve writers whose work appears on the longlist for 2015, almost half a century separates the youngest from the oldest.'"

To read the full story regarding the 2015 Stella Prize longlist click here.

The judges have a difficult task ahead of them, as they narrow down this outstanding longlist to a shortlist by Thursday 12 March 2015.